Skip to content

Is this what I really want to do?

May 5, 2010

There comes a time in a writer’s career that they ask if this is what they really want to do for a living and why they put themselves through so much torture working to crank out stories to succeed in publication. Worse when “R”s start rolling in. It may be a hobby turned sour, but the need to write may still be there.

Being a writer entails many characteristics to survive and move forward, all characteristics that may be hard to come by, but can easily be learned and adapted to.

Determination, Motivation, Perseverance, and Patience.

I’ve heard these words so many times that they are literally tattooed in my mind. But there comes days where you blame your lack of success on your muse or you find that writing is just plain damn hard. It’s normal. My brain knows it’s normal, but the inner critical self doesn’t. The devil side of me tells me to give up, there’s too many writers out there. Yes, it’s true. I read somewhere that there is INDEED a writer in everyone and all those everyone has a desire to be a writer or has some sort of story to tell.

No matter how defeat tries to beat a person up, one should never give up. It’s an open field out there. Anything can happen, if you believe.

So take a deep breath. Do some reflecting. Why do you really want to write? What’s in it for you? What drives you to continue toward your goals as a writer?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    May 17, 2010 2:46 pm

    Good post. I’ve been reflecting on why I want to be a writer a lot lately. I have my ups and downs with writing, much like a rollercoaster. What I’ve come to accept us that I write because there us a story with a workable plot and, despite good of bad reviews, it feels like such a waste not to publish and share it. I agree with your advice, ask the questions, find the motivation and do it fir the right reasons.

    • May 17, 2010 3:19 pm

      Love the optimism! It’s true, it’s a shame if you don’t try!

  2. May 17, 2010 10:23 pm

    Hi Clarissa

    I came by to apologise for not managing to reply to your comment on my We Write Romance blog – life got in the way and turned things upside down and inside out and I’ve only just emerged from deadlines and revisions (and revision deadlines!)

    So I just wanted to say that I’m really happy that my 12 Point Guide has helped you with your writing – and thankyou for writing to let me know. I really appreciate that.

    And as for your own blog question – if I’m honest, that’s one that still comes to me every now and then – like when I’m deep in deadlines and revisions! The only answer I can come up with is that I’ve never wanted to do anything else and my life would have a big hole in it if I didn’t write – plus, what would I do with all the voices in my head telling me their stories ? ;o)

    Yes, there are so many many writers out there but unless you try how will you know if your book is the one that will really speak to so many? When people ask me when they should give up if they aren ‘t succeeding, I always ask ‘if they can give up’. I know I can’ t, even when the road is long and rocky. If you love the journey, don;t give up.

    Good luck with your journey

    Kate

    • May 19, 2010 7:30 pm

      OMG. Kate Walker on my blog! i think I’ve swooned. LOL. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and answering my comment. You’re truly an inspiration and a great teacher!

Leave a Reply

