Skip to content

Editor hat off…Author on the run.

August 12, 2010

It’s one thing to be an editor and make an author’s life hard, but it’s another to see edits from another editor and try to rationalize and accept the rightness of their suggestions.

I’ve been drowning in edits, mine, his, hers, just everyone’s. Is it possible to compartmentalize your brain in different sections while spending time with so many different characters?

Sometimes it’s hard to see eye to eye with another editor. There are authors out there who are positive their way is the right way, but when your work is put in front of an editor, consideration needs to be taken seriously. I’m not telling you to accept everything the editor says, but seriously think about it. Will the suggestions progress the story forward? Does it fit? Can you prove them wrong? Or is it really just a stubborn monster in you that wants to hold onto what you have?

Yes, sure, it’s your baby that’s on the table, but wouldn’t you rather that story be the best you’ve ever written?

I have a great editor for my upcoming release, Love By Auction and working on my own revisions has seriously opened my eyes. Sometimes when you read your own work, you don’t spot these things that the editor does. You don’t see the careless mistakes you make, but you’re able to find them in someone else’s MS.

After receiving my first round of edits, I contemplated the suggestions made. I dwelled on them for a few days, waiting for the answer to come to mind. And then there it was. For the first time in months, I wrote, adding more to my baby that’s coming out at the end of the month. It’s stronger, better, and much more reader friendly.

There is ALWAYS room for improvement.

Excitement is rising, knowing that the final product is coming to an end and into the hands of my readers. The amount of blood and sweat spent laboring over a story to make sure that it’s perfect, a piece of art, and the best ever written takes a lot out of a person. But the final result/response is the best thing that can ever come out of the process.

It’s funny when you hear people say that the hardest thing to do is write ‘the end’ of the story and finish, but I seriously think the real work starts after.

Don’t you agree? What are your thoughts?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 11:49 am

    Cheers FAbulous Editor! The easiest part is finishing. The hardest part is being told, gently but firmly, that while this is cool, and that is hot and those things over there rock out, there are ways to make it better.

    I can’t imagine a better editor. I will take a liberty and assume I’m among your favorite writers, but perhaps only because I bring the beer.
    cheers
    ETC

    • August 12, 2010 12:08 pm

      LOL. You are one of my favorites and you make my job so lovable. Your quirky characters always make me smile. And I’m truly blushing by your comment. You rock! Now where’s the beer again?

  2. August 12, 2010 5:12 pm

    Very nice blog. It sure is different being on either end of the red pen, for me too. But as you said, if it prompts us to make the book the very best it can be, we win!

  3. August 18, 2010 6:19 pm

    I agree, your editor ROCKS. And I hear great things are coming to my desk…..CANNOT WAIT!!

    You go, Clarissa.
    No, I mean stay. Definitely stay. 🙂

  4. August 27, 2010 2:29 am

    I’ve never been on the editor end of the pen, just the author end, and that just for the first time this past summer. Honestly? In some ways I sort of prefer working on the edits to the original writing.

    What’s with the funny looks? Did I forget pants again? Oh, the edits thing. Lemme ‘splain.

    When I’m doing original writing, I’m only very rarely sure I’ve gotten it right. Occasionally, even when I think I’ve gotten it right, beta readers tell me ‘WTF?’, which means it wasn’t right. Reminds me of the first time I tried to write ‘erotic’. I thought ‘hey, that’s pretty good’. Readers thought it was a redefined ‘bad’. Once in a while I’ve rewritten something and gotten griped at in beta because I ‘ruined it’. At any rate, with original prose I’m basically wandering through the wilderness, thinking I’ve got it right, hoping I haven’t screwed the proverbial pooch too badly.

    When I’m working edits? Someone has laid out for me where things don’t work. I have an objective viewpoint to bounce ideas off. I don’t always change everything that the editor points out, but when I don’t it’s usually because I realize I missed something earlier in the story and go fix that. Most importantly, though, I know when I’m done. When everything on the list has been addressed, I can send it back knowing it’s better than when I started.

    All in all? I love my editors! They give me something fun to do when I’m stuck on my new stuff. 🙂

    • August 27, 2010 10:17 am

      That’s a very good take on edits! Now if only all authors thought that way and loved edits like you do. They are fun in the sense that it also helps you grow as a writer to learn from your editor. It only makes you stronger and more aware of other things, too

      Thanks so much for sharing. That was really interesting!

      • August 27, 2010 1:38 pm

        They really do help me grow. I think some of my newer stuff will need less edits, because I’m seeing where my weaknesses are.

        Of course, I do have one complaint. Now when I’m reading published stuff, editorial goofs JUMP off the page at me. Makes reading for fun less fun. 😦 Ah, well. I still love me some books, so it’s all good.

  5. August 27, 2010 10:39 am

    Bob you are a joy to edit. And ‘wtf’ is a standard critique term. Because we critique for our friends and we don’t want the editor to have to say it lol…not that we would!

    • August 27, 2010 11:08 am

      Are you speaking for yourself? LOL WTF is a common word in my vocab.

      • August 27, 2010 11:16 am

        Well yeah but you hit too! jk.

Leave a Reply

